These days, Snapchat, a popular messaging app, is having a dream run in the race in which the list of competitors includes giants like Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, etc. With over 187 million active users across the globe, Snapchat is changing the way everyone shares their pictures and videos with family and friends. On this platform, you can share your memories in the form of photos or videos with anyone in your friend’s list and the same will disappear from everywhere (from the device & server) the moment you spell ‘snap’. Due to this reason, the application is often regarded as a platform meant for sharing provocative media. However, the majority of its users use the application for enjoyment purposes as it enables quicker communication with your loved ones.
Have you ever wondered what will happen if a person you are talking to on Snapchat suddenly disappears or you are no longer able to send messages to that person or not able to see their shared pictures or videos? What does it mean? You will wonder whether they have left that social media platform or they have blocked you. If you are too curious to know if that person has blocked you, this article is for you. In this article, several ways are suggested using which you can easily get to know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. But first, let’s know a bit more about Snapchat.
Table of Contents
What is Snapchat?
Snapchat is a multimedia messaging app that is created by the former students of Stanford University. Today, it is a globally used messaging app with a huge user base. One of the features of Snapchat that makes it overshadow other messaging apps is that the pictures and videos that are on Snapchat are usually available for a short time before they become inaccessible to their recipients. To date, it has around 187 million daily active users across the globe.
However, one feature of the application that generally creates problems is that you will not get to know or Snapchat won’t send you any notification if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. If you want to know if someone has blocked you or you suspect that you have been, you will have to know by yourself by doing some investigation. Luckily, it is not that hard to know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat.
How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on Snapchat?
Below you’ll find several ways using which you can easily get to know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat:
1. Check your recent conversations
This method is the best and the simplest way to know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. But, keep in mind that this method will work only if you had a recent conversation with that person and you have not cleared your conversations. That is, the chat with that person is still available in your conversations.
If you have not deleted the conversation, you can easily find out if that person has blocked you by simply looking at the conversations. If the chat still exists in the conversations, you have not been blocked but if their chat no longer appears in your conversation, they have blocked you.
To know if the person you suspect has blocked you on Snapchat or not by viewing their chat in your conversations, follow the below steps.
1. Open the Snapchat app and enter your email address or username and your password.
2. Click on the message icon that is available at the bottom left corner and to the left of the camera snap button with Friends written under the icon.
3. All your conversations will open up. Now, look for the chat of the person you suspect has blocked you.
After completing the above steps, if the name appears on the conversation list, it means that person has not blocked you but if the name does not appear, it confirms that the person has blocked you.
2. Search their username or full name
If you haven’t had any conversation with the person you suspect or if you have deleted the conversation, searching their full name or username is the correct way to find out if the suspect has blocked you.
By searching their username or full name, if no trace of them is available or it is like they do not exist on Snapchat, it will make sure that the individual has blocked you.
To search for the full name or username of any person on Snapchat, follow the below steps.
1. Open the Snapchat app and enter your email or username and your password.
2. To search for any person on Snapchat, click on the Search icon available at the top left corner of the snap tab or conversations tab marked by a Magnifying glass icon.
3. Start typing the user name or full name of the person you want to search for.
Note: You will get better and quick results if you know the exact username of the person as multiple users can have the same full name but the username is unique for all users.
After searching for that person, if it appears on the search list, that person has not blocked you but if in case it doesn’t appear in the search results, it confirms that either that person has blocked you or has deleted his or her Snapchat account.
3. Use a different account to search for their username or full name
By using the above method, it will not confirm that the person you suspect has blocked you as it might be possible that the person has deleted his or her Snapchat account and that’s why the person is not appearing in your search results. So, to make sure that the person has not deleted his or her account and has blocked you, you can take the help of another account and then search using that account. If that person appears in the search result of another account, it will confirm that the person has blocked you.
If you do not have any other account, you can go ahead and create a new account by entering your full name, date of birth, and phone number. Then a code will come on your entered phone number. Enter that code and you will be asked to create a password. Create a strong password for your new Snapchat account and your account will be ready to use. Now, use this newly created account to search if that person is still using Snapchat and has blocked you or that person is no longer available on Snapchat.
Hopefully, using any of the above methods, you will be able to make out whether the person you suspect has blocked you or not.